©Malachi James 2021

I have to admit I was a little nervous commissioning Mal to design my new Twitter avatar. Would I be able to handle a caricature? Would it look anything like me? I gave him a photo of me wearing some hand-made sunflower earrings, thinking they would be a fun element to play with. Clearly I needn’t have worried – the result is perfect!

It seemed logical to present myself in illustrated form. As a picture book author, I am lucky to have many talented illustrators bringing my stories to life. They include:

Rosalind Beardshaw

Melanie Williamson

Gabby Grant

Jon Mitchell

Margaret Chamberlain

Kirsteen Harris-Jones

Eilidh Muldoon

Emma Allen

Marie-Rose Boisson

Lee Wildish

And that is only half of them! Click on any illustrator’s name above to visit their website or profile page. They are all hugely talented, and we authors should do more to promote them and give them the credit they deserve. If you want to see the full list of illustrators I have been lucky enough to work with, just visit my website at Lynne Rickards Author.

If you are tempted by the idea of having an illustrated you, I can certainly recommend Malachi James Cartoons! My daughter Anna also does cartoony portraits, including this stylish one of herself:

©Anna Rickards 2019

I love this one, which she calls Gals Vibing:

©Anna Rickards 2020

If you’d like to be illustrated the Anna Rickards way, just visit her website HERE. To all the illustrators in my life, a big THANK YOU!