Spring is here and Sports Day is coming soon! It’s time to practise those races and get ready to cheer for your friends.

When I was little I was terrible at running, so I didn’t get too many ribbons on Sports Day. I just trotted along happily without worrying about coming first, while all the other children whizzed past me towards the finish line!

My son Cameron is a much better runner than I was. That picture at the top is from his very first Sports Day when he was five. He was going as fast as he could in the relay race!

When he wasn’t running, Cameron had lots of fun digging in the grass for worms. You can see he found a really big one that he was very pleased with! I think the worm was his favourite part of Sports Day that year.

Are you looking forward to Sports Day? I’ve written a poem on that very subject, which you can read on my website HERE. (Just scroll down to find it.)

